File photo

OSKALOOSA — Pro Line Building Company of New Sharon sponsored the season opener at the Southern Iowa Speedway on Wednesday night as the 2021 season got underway.

The main event of the night was the Mid-State Machine Stock Car 16-lap feature. Jason Hall led early before a mechanical failure sidelined his car number 95. Derrick Agee took over the top spot and was on a rail as he drove the fast tacky track. Dustin Griffiths provided very stiff competition for Agee as the two raced side by side lap after lap. Griffiths made one last charge as the front runners raced under the checkers but his bid for the win came up just short at the finish line. Donnie Pearson had a great night in taking third.

Local hot shoe Curtis VanDerwal came from deep in the starting field to score the Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmod feature on opening night. VanDerwal drove his 1V to the bottom of the track on lap number 13 and sailed past race leader Logan Anderson and held onto the top spot for he final three circuits in topping the main event. Anderson finished just ahead of Blaine Webster at the checkers.

Rick VanDusseldorp scored his second feature win in the last week in scoring the Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock main event on opening night. The veteran Osky driver fought off the constant challenges of Dustin Griffiths in racing to the win in the 14-lap feature. Aaron Martin crossed under the checkers in third.

Billy Cain topped a large field of Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts on opening night. Cain led the 10-lap feature flag to flag taking advantage of a front row start. Clayton Webster advanced from a fourth row start to take second to Cain.

Jonathan Hughes started the 2021 season right where he left off last year and that was in victory lane following the 10-lap non-wing sprint car feature. Kelly Graham started on the front row and finished second to Hughes.

Racing will continue on Wednesday, May 5th on DeJong Manufacturing night, all in attendance will be treated to a free bag of popcorn courtesy of DeJong Manufacturing. Hot laps at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa will get underway at 7:15 p.m.

Southern Iowa Speedway Season Opener 4/28 Feature Results (top 5)

Mid-State Machine Stock Cars

1. 14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO

2. 10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

3. 19 Donnie Pearson-Oskaloosa

4. 409 Howard Gordon Jr.-Oskaloosa

5. 52 Nathan Wood-Sigournery

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

1. 1V Curtis VanDerwal-Oskaloosa

2. 53 Logan Anderson-Eddyville

3. 7 Blaine Webster-Ottumwa

4. 30M Maguire DeJong-Montezuma

5. 42 Tyler Heckart-Ottumwa

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

1. 1R Rick VanDusseldorp-Oskaloosa

2. 10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

3. 73 Aaron Martin-Delta

4. 3 Travis Bunnell-Hedrick

5. T4 Tyler Graves-Chariton

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

1. 52 Billy Cain-Bloomfield

2. 15 Clayton Webster-Ottumwa

3. 2h James Haring-Oskaloosa

4. 41 Nathan Moody-Oskaloosa

5. 9 Kolby Sabin-Des Moines

Non-Wing Sprints

1. 67 Jonathan Hughes-Knoxville

2. 25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick

3. 11b Ben Woods-Newton

4. 12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa

5. 7X Lance Silver-Ottumwa

Trending Video

Recommended for you