The 2005 Oskaloosa High School football season officially concluded with its annual awards banquet Monday night at the high school cafeteria.

Oskaloosa coach Darrell Schumacher lauded the team for their efforts during the team’s 8-2 season and a district championship. He also read a letter from an opposing coach on how well the team is schooled on the fundamentals and the sportsmanship it displayed in winning a game easily against his team.

The team set 22 school records this season while earning a playoff berth for the second time in Schumacher’s three seasons at Oskaloosa.

Among the school records set was Tyler Sash becoming the first Oskaloosa player to have more than 1,000 yards in receiving as he had 1,008 yards on 49 receptions, which also was a school record. Sash also set a record for reception yards in a game (267 against Chariton) touchdown receptions in a game (3), which he did twice, season (12) and a career (16). He also scored 28 total touchdowns this season for another record. Sash set a school record for receptions in a career with 69 and reception yards in a career (1,438). He also has 908 yards in kickoff returns for another school record and scored 168 points this season.

Ryan Van Dalen set school marks in pass completions in a career (217), pass attempts in a career (473), passing yards in a game (326 against Chariton), passing yards in a career (3,817), touchdown passes in a season (18) and a career (28). He also set a new school mark for total offense with 3,983.

Jacob Leib recorded 53 PATs this season for a school record and has 70 PATs for his career. He’s also kicked eight field goals for his career for another school record.

Schumacher thanked assistant coaches Mike Sterner, Todd Miller, Denny Parks, Kelly Luck, Mike Foster, Ivan Hankins, Phil James and Burdette Brown for their efforts this season on the varsity, junior varsity and freshmen levels.

Luck coached the junior varsity team to a 7-2 record and he recognized his team during the banquet.

The support staff of Kayla Osborn, Tyler DeHeer, Calayna Seemann, Kayla McMorran, Sierra Proudfit, Amanda Kendall and Thomas Wales were also honored and all but Osborn and DeHeer return for next season.

Nine Oskaloosa players were accorded all-district honors. They were Ryan Van Dalen, Nathan Johnson, Adam Russell, Cory Sheeley, Tyler Alexander, Daniel Foster, Josh Curry, Shawn Van Rheenen and Tyler Sash. Receiving honorable mention all-district recognition were David Funni, Spencer Stout and Matt Mich.

One area that Schumacher displayed plenty of pride were how many players and support staff personnel achieved academic awards. They included Alexander, Russell, Foster, Sash, Funni, Van Rheenen, Seemann, McMorran, Wales, Osborn, Joe Nielsen, Travis Bricker, John Adair, Nick Anderson, Curt Tennison, Adam Rohloff, Brett Flander, Cory Trainer, Brian Gott and Jacob Leib.

This year’s captains were Van Dalen, Mich, Sheeley and Johnson. Taking over those roles in 2006 will be Sash, Alexander, Anderson and Christian Septer.

The varsity team members voted on a variety of awards and Schumacher handed out those awards.

Named as winner of the Brent Blanchard Award as best running back was Spencer Stout and Nathan Johnson was the Jim peters Award winner as best lineman. Selected for Apache Awards for the best defensive players were Josh Curry, Chase Mitrisin and Daniel Foster.

Foster also earned the Henle Award for Academic Excellence while Patrick Ealy was named Scout Team Player. Tyler Sash, John Adair and Jacob Leib were Special Teams Players and the recipient of the Dave Roepke Award for Commitment to Excellence went to Matt Mich.

The final award was the Benz Award for the team’s Most Valuable Player both on and off the field, which went to Ryan Van Dalen.


Recommended for you