OSKALOOSA — The chairman of the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors was jailed on Sunday for a charge of domestic abuse.

The Mahaska County Sheriff's Office has charged Mark Allen Groenendyk, 53, of rural Oskaloosa, with domestic abuse assault first offense, a serious misdemeanor.

Mahaska County Sheriff Russell Van Renterghem said Groenendyk was arrested at 1 a.m. Sunday at his home in rural Oskaloosa without incident. Van Renterghem said on the advice of the Mahaska County Attorney’s Office, Groenendyk was transported to the Marion County Jail, where he was booked and held until he was released.

According to court filings, police said they were called to the emergency room at Mahaska Health Hospital Saturday night for the report of an assault. Court documents say one of Groenendyk’s sons reported to a Mahaska County Sheriff's Deputy that he had been working with Groenendyk in the shop Saturday afternoon when Groenendyk became angry with him.

The victim told law enforcement that Groenendyk had grabbed him, slammed him into a corner, punched him once in the chest and slammed his head against the wall multiple times.

In court filings, the officer said he saw that the victim had red marks on both shoulders.

Groenendyk won a second term on the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors in November. He was first elected to the board in 2017 and has served as chairman of the board since 2019.

Online court records do not indicate whether Groenendyk has an attorney. A telephonic preliminary hearing has been set for Feb. 17 at 11:45 a.m.

Mahaska County Attorney Andrew Ritland has requested the court appoint the Jefferson County Attorney as a special prosecutor in the case, citing a conflict of interest.

In Iowa, a conviction of a simple misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine up to $1,875.

Kyle Ocker is the editor of the Oskaloosa Herald and the Ottumwa Courier. He can be reached at kocker@oskyherald.com. Follow him on Twitter @Kyle_Ocker.

Trending Video

Group Editor

Kyle Ocker is a Centerville native and award-winning multimedia journalist. Kyle is currently the president of the Iowa Freedom of Information Council and vice president of the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association.

Recommended for you