DES MOINES — Several area students were recognized by Gov. Kim Reynolds and Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg for outstanding academic achievement at the 19th Annual Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony in April.

Students recognized included Rachel Robinson, of Oskaloosa; Sophia Dykstra, of Oskaloosa; Macy Moore, of North Mahaska; Julia Smart, of Pella; Tessa Brouwer, of Pella Christian; Reilly Finarty, of Knoxville; Brooke Shafer, of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont; J’Lyn Knutson, of Melcher-Dallas; Hailee McCormick, of Pleasantville; and Kade Dunkin, of Twin Cedars.

The statewide program, sponsored by the Iowa Governor's Office, Iowa High School Athletic Association and its title sponsor the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, honored 424 high school seniors from across Iowa at the April 25 ceremony.

Each high school was invited to select a senior student with the highest academic ranking, based on grade point average, for their first seven semesters. Students selected for the award also had the opportunity to recognized their favorite or most influential teacher. Students will receive a photo plaque of their meeting with Reynolds and Gregg.

Ninety-eight percent of those recognized also participate in extracurricular activities, with more than 75% participating in at least one interscholastic sport. More than 63% of the group plan to continue their education in Iowa.

Trending Video

Recommended for you