By a 28 vote margin, challenger John Grahek appears to have defeated incumbent Dave Dickinson in the race for the Board of Directors, District 6 seat in the Oskaloosa Community School District. Although the results will not be official until Friday, when the votes are canvassed, Grahek appears to have gotten 682 votes to Dickinson’s 654 in the only contested seat in the district. Turnout was especially high at the Grant and Webster School and University Park Community Building polling sites.

“There were an above normal number of absentee ballots because of the contested seat,” noted Teresa Paige, deputy auditor of elections.

When reached for comment, Grahek said, “I’d like to thank all those who came out and supported me. I’d also like to thank Dave Dickinson for a great campaign. I’m looking forward to continued progress that the school board has made and getting the opportunity to be part of it.”

In Oskaloosa’s uncontested District 4 seat, Donald Patterson received 969 votes.

Uncontested seats 2 and 3 in the North Mahaska district, held by Mike Boyle and Duane White, received 15 and 21 votes, respectively.

In Fremont’s field of three candidates for two at-large seats, Bryan Archer received the most votes, at 87, with Melissa Gingrich a close second at 83. Michelle Rupprecht received 66.

Herald Staff Writer Sue Salisbury can be reached by email at

Recommended for you