Bridget Vande Zande, Marie Johnson (as Leading Player), Avery Verhoef and Trent Van Gilst (as Pippin) in Pella Christian’s production of Pippin which opens Thursday, Friday, and Saturday at 7 p.m.

PELLA — Pella Christian High School will open its 72nd theatre season with Broadway's 2013's Best Musical Revival, Pippin, this week Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, Oct. 28, 29 and 30 at 7 p.m. in PCHS’s Vermeer Auditorium, 300 Eagle Lane.

Winner of four Tony Awards, this updated circus-inspired version of Pippin continues to captivate audiences throughout the world. Based loosely on the oldest son of Charlemagne and heir to the Holy Roman Empire, the modern music and magnificent script and score are far from the eighth century setting, however, as Pippin searches for what might offer him fulfillment in life: academics, war, simple joys, revolution, and even ordinary life.

A traveling troupe of players, led by the charming Leading Player, also give excitement and color as they offer and act out the scenes Pippin finds himself in as he searches. The musical is filled with special effects, dazzling lighting, lots of energetic choreography, tricks and surprises, and colorful costumes.

Playing the roles of Pippin and the Leading Player will be Trent Van Gilst and Marie Johnson. They are supported by Lauren Dunsbergen (as Catherine), Jack Vos (as Charlemagne), Abby Dart (as Fastrada) and Caleb Belzer (as Lewis). Additional characters include Liz Vink (as Berthe), Hudson Ritzert (as Theo) and Bridget Vande Zande and Avery Verhoef as Supporting Players.

Popular musical numbers include "Magic to Do," "Corner of the Sky," "Morning Glow," and "Kind of Woman.”

“Pippin is a high energy show with lots of special effects,” promises director Marlo Van Peursem. “We have great costumes and lighting and a lot of energetic choreography. It will be an enjoyable evening at the theatre.”

The cast of 34 is under the direction of Marlo Van Peursem with assistance from Aaron Fitzgerald (music), Paulina Loaiza (choreography), and Daryl Van Zee (Tech). Student Leaders include Leah Osborn (Student Director), Marie Johnson (Student Music Director), Lauren Dunsbergen (Dance Captain), Nia Hoekstra (Production Coordinator), Alejandro Murdoch (Lights), and Carson Tukker (Sound).

Production dates are October 28, 29, and 30 with Reserved Tickets available for purchase on-line from a link on the school’s home page, pceagles.org, or from pchstt.booktix.com. Remaining tickets will be sold at the door for an additional cost.

Trending Video

Recommended for you