OSKALOOSA — Millions of Americans will head to their respective polling places today to cast their vote in local elections. Here’s what you need to know.


Whether it’s your first time voting or fortieth, it is important to make sure you are registered.

Iowa residents can check their registration status at https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/voterreg/regtovote/search.aspx.

Residents can bring an Iowa photo ID to register at the polling place. Those with an out-of-state ID will need to provide proof of address to register to vote.


Oskaloosa voters will decide the new holders of several local seats in both School Board and City Council.

Two at-large council seats are open, as well as one seat in each the 1st and 3rd wards.

There are also three positions on the Board of Education up for grabs.

Barnes City Residents will mark their ballots for three city council candidates.

In Beacon, voters will decide a new mayor and five city council members. Those in Fremont and New Sharon will choose three each.

Keomah ballots will include the option to vote for mayor and three city council members; in Leighton, mayor and five council members.


Three city council seats and three Pella School Board seats are up for grabs. Knoxville voters will decide on a new School Board member.


Mahaska County:

- Adams, Monroe, Pleasant Grove, Union, Barnes City

Union Mills Christian Church, 1403 Parkin Avenue, New Sharon

- Black Oak, Scott, Leighton, Pella

Leighton Christian Reformed Church, 415 Reid Street, Leighton

-Cedar, Harrison, White Oak, Eddyville, Fremont, Rose Hill

Fremont Community Building, 107 E. Main Street, Fremont

-East/West Des Moines, Jefferson

County Maintainer Shop (Truax) 101 Lakonta Oak Street,Eddyville

-Garfield, Lincoln, Madison, Beacon

County Shop Building, 2074 Old Hwy. 163, Oskaloosa

-Oskaloosa - Ward 1

Ag. Extension Office Building, 212 N. I Street, Oskaloosa

-Oskaloosa - Ward 2

Fellowship Bible Church, 1000 A Avenue West, Oskaloosa.

-Oskaloosa - Ward 3, University Park

Assembly of God Church Gym, 715 S. 17th Street, Oskaloosa

-Oskaloosa - Ward 4, LN

Old Grant School Building, 715 B Avenue East, Oskaloosa

- Prairie, Richland, New Sharon

New Sharon City Park Building,102 West High Street New Sharon

- Spring Creek, Keomah Village

MCCB Environment Learning Center, 2342 Highway 92, Oskaloosa

Marion County:

- Clay Township

Harvey Community Center, 300 Main Street, Harvey


Melcher-Dallas Community Center, 112 N Main Street, Melcher


Indiana Township Community Center, 1980 Highway G76, Knoxville

- Knoxville City Ward 1

Knoxville School Administration Building, 309 W Main Street, Knoxville

- Knoxville City Ward 2

Knoxville Public Library, 213 East Montgomery Street, Knoxville

-Knoxville City Ward 3

Community of Christ Church, 714 Willetts Drive, Knoxville

- Knoxville City Ward 4

Dyer Hudson Hall

Marion County Fairgrounds, 1000 N Lincoln Street, Knoxville

- Knoxville Township

Marion County Public Health Building, 2003 N Lincoln, Knoxville

- Lake Prairie

Heartland Reformed Church, 628 Highway T14, Pella

- Liberty

Bussey Community Center, 313 5th Street, Bussey

- Otley

Otley Reformed Church, 700 Johnston Street, Otley

- Pella City Ward 1

Trinity Reformed Church Activity Center, 708 E Second Street, Pella

-Pella City Ward 2

Calvary Church, 408 Maple Street, Pella

- Pella City Ward 3

Pella Legion Hall, 829 Broadway Street, Pella

-Pella City Ward 4

United Methodist Church of Pella, 1414 University Street, Pella


Pleasantville Memorial Building,101 North Jefferson Street, Pleasantville

- Washington

Columbia Fire Station, 1032 Virginia Street, Columbia

Shannon Rabotski can be reached at srabotski@oskyherald.com.

Trending Video

Recommended for you