MAHASKA COUNTY — Election day for school board and city council elections is Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Oskaloosa City Council

There is no opposition for any of the incumbents running. David Krutzfeldt is seeking re-election as mayor. Robert Drost, who was appointed in 2018 to fill a seat vacated by Tom Jimenez, seeks to continue to represent Oskaloosa’s second ward. Steve Burnett is hoping to continue to represent the fourth ward. Joe Caligiuri is running to keep an at-large position on the city council.

Oskaloosa School Board

As in the city council race, the Oskaloosa Community School District Board of Directors is uncontested. Of the four seats opening on the school board, only Amanda McGrew and Sharma Parlett are seeking re-election, of districts 1 and 3, respectively. Kraig Van Hulzen and Erik Edgren are not seeking re-election.

Charlie Comfort, who has prior experience on the school board from 2011–2014, seeks to represent district 4.

Shawn Moyer has also previously served on the board, from 2013–2015, and is running in district 6.

Barnes City Council

There are two candidates seeking mayorship of Barnes City. Troy A. Ray will be facing incumbent Barbara Davis for that position. Two seats are open in the Barnes City Council, with three candidates running: Donald Baker, Nancy Dunnick and Jennifer McGuire.

Beacon City Council

Mayor Jim Hughes is seeking re-election. There are five positions open on the Beacon City Council and there are five candidates: Dwight Teeter, Bill Williams, Richard Thomas, Thomas W. Van Der Veer.

Beacon public measure

Beacon will additionally be voting on whether or not to adopt a public measure to change the use of revenue from the local sales and services tax already imposed in the City of Beacon Iowa.

Currently, the usage is 70 percent for municipal services contracted from other cities and 30 percent for the City Hall fund. The proposed measure, effective Jan. 1, 2020 would allow 100 percent of local sales and services taxes to go to the general fund and for any lawful purpose.

Fremont City Council

Elizabeth R. Haring is the sole mayoral candidate. Two seats are open on the Fremont City Council. Richard Beach, Mica R. Cavin, Sherri Baxter, Zachary Neff, John H. Van Zante and Dollie J. Horn are running to fill those positions.

Keomah Village City Council

H. Craig Coen seeks to fill the role of mayor for Keomah Village. Paul Riggs, Mike Sinnett and Alyce Chandler are seeking seats on the city council.

Leighton City Council

Mayoral incumbent Keith Beintema is running for re-election, uncontested. Henry W. Van Roekel, Steve Nieuwsma, Kimberly A. Sytsma, Charles J. Bogaard and Dan Gleason are candidates for city council positions, of which there are five open seats.

New Sharon City Council

Mayor Keri Lamberson assumed the role of mayor after Dustin Hite’s election to the Iowa House of Representatives and is not seeking election. Candidates Jeffrey Dean Long and Denis Currier seek to become the next mayor.

Ron Wyatt and Larry Applegate are both running unopposed for the two open seats on the New Sharon City Council.

North Mahaska School District

Those running for North Mahaska district 1 are Michelle Sampson and James R. Roach. Dirk Wilkin is running for district 2. Erica Mae Groom and Keith Foster are both seeking election in district 3.

Rose Hill

Mayor Kyle Morgan is not seeking re-election. Kevin Molyneux is only candidate seeking to fill that role. There are five open seats on the Rose Hill City Council, with five community members running: Channa McMillian, Jacob Dannels, Matt Montgomery, Aaron Molyneux and Terry Lowe.

University Park

Mayor George Toubekis is seeking re-election, uncontested. Harry David Graham is the only person running for the city council.

Tri-County Community School District

There are three at-large seats available, with terms ending in 2023. Two candidates are in the running: Chad McKain and Ryan Hull.

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Community School District

Debra Bahr and Mark Haselhuhn are both running for a single open seat in district 4.

Twin Cedars School District

In district one, Mike Weldon is running for a single open seat with a term expiring in 2023. Kelly Carlson is running in district 2, also for a single open term expiring in 2023. In District four, one seat is open, with a term ending in 2023. Jolinda Fairchild is running for that position.

Lynnville-Sully School District

Voters will vote on three at-large positions, all expiring in 2023. Those running include David R. Foster and Tammy Vos and Amanda Jones

Pella Community School District

In district one, there is one open seat, expiring in 2023. Timothy Tripp is seeking that position. Annette Smith is seeking to fill an unexpired term ending in 2021. Gary Coppock is running in district 2, for a seat expiring in 2023.

Recommended for you