WEST DES MOINES — The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) Young Farmer Advisory Committee has elected new leaders for 2020.

Kristin Plate will represent Mahaska County as IFBF Historian. Plate returned to the farm in 2010 after living in five states and four countries, following her husband Sherwin’s U.S. Army orders. They have three kids and raise grain and hogs. Plate also substitutes at her children’s school and teaches bible studies to three and four-year-olds.

Other elected leaders include Mary Ebert, Guthrie County, Chair; Shonda Hahn, Johnson County, Vice-Chair; Allison Kruger, Hancock County, Secretary; and Megan Handsen, Cass County, PR Chair.

These officers and district representatives are committed to uniting young farmers, ages 18-35, throughout the state through engaging programs and events, including the annual IFBF Young Farmer Conference, which draws hundreds of young farmers and agribusiness leaders together to connect and share ideas.

“Not only does the Young Farmer Program work to promote new opportunities and innovative thinking for our state’s youngest agriculturalists and emerging farmers, but you’ll notice this year all of our officers are young women,” says IFBF President Craig Hill. “Women continue to play vital roles on the farm and Iowa Farm Bureau is proud to have them representing the next generation of agricultural leaders.”

Additional new district representatives added to the committee include Brandon and Dee Pickard of Marshall County, Keaton Keitzer and Keely Acheson of Des Moines County and Dan and Megan Hansen of Cass County. These new committee members will serve three-year terms as communicators for their districts.

The 2021 Young Farmer Conference will take place Jan. 29-30, 2021 at the Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center. For more information on the Young Farmer Program, visit https://www.iowafarmbureau.com/Farmer-Resources/Farm-Bureau-Leaders/Young-Farmer-Program.

Recommended for you