OSKALOOSA — School gyms, churches and city halls throughout the nation became the place to be Tuesday as thousands of voters made their way to the polls to cast votes in their local elections.

Mahaska County voters had the opportunity to elect several new faces to local government and decide on various public measures.


The Oskaloosa Community School District race saw eight candidates vying for three seats; director district two, director district five and director at-large.

Running against two opponents, write-in candidate Clint O’Day found himself victorious in the race for director district two.

In the district five race, Aaron Hinnah received over 300 votes more than the second place candidate.

Kathy Butler took home nearly two-thirds of the vote in the at-large race against opponent Cheryl A. Benson.

The district’s revenue purpose statement was also on the ballot and passed with over 1,000 more yes votes than no.

Also on the ballot for Oskaloosa Community School District voters was public measure OI, or the decision to change the board of education director seats to all at-large, rather than having several director districts.

The city government race brought little surprise with five candidates running unopposed.

David Krutzfeldt was voted to continue his 12-year service as Mayor of Oskloosa.

Janet Kruskie Hermsen and Ronda Almond will each be new faces on the city council for wards one and three, respectively.

Charlie Comfort and Lisa Ossian will take over the at-large seats on the Oskaloosa City Council.

Mahaska County

Jeffrey Innis, Gene Davis and Jennifer McGuire will each take a seat on the Barnes City Council.

The Beacon race included five city council seats up for grab, as well as the position of mayor.

The Beacon mayoral race was one of several in the county to end with a write-in candidate receiving the most votes. Candidates will need to be contacted and accept the position before results become final. Dwight Teeter, Richard Thomas, Bill Williams, Thomas Van Der Veer and a write-in each earned seats on the council.

In Fremont, Travis Albertson, Barbara DeGeest and Dollie Horn were each voted on to the City Council.

Bill Allen ran uncontested in the Keomah mayoral race for a term ending in 2023. He will be joined in the Keomah local government by Mark W. De Jong, Jay Sarver and Eric Dursky.

Leighton was another municipality voting on numerous positions, with Keith D. Beintema voted as mayor and Steve Nieuwsma, Charles J. Bogaard, Henry W. Van Roekel, Dan Gleason and Kimberly A. Sytsma will join the city council.

The New Sharon City Council race saw four candidates vying for three positions which were given to Benjamin Robert Hansen, Justin Stout and Thomas J. German.

Jacob Dannels won the Rose Hill mayoral race; Terry Lowe, Rob Dannels, Dianna Ilynn Robert, Julia Newcomb and a write-in the city council.

George Toubekis will continue serving as University Park Mayor. The city council will welcome Colleen Platt and Robert Barnhart. Dave Brown and Sarah Kargol tied with 35 votes. The vote will be resolved with a canvass.

The Eddyville mayoral race went to a write-in candidate. Tod Kelsey, Nick Batterson and Robert Veldhuizen were voted to the city council.

Marion County

Voters in Pella decided on several new members for both the city council and school board.

Mark De Jong received the most votes in the Pella City Council at-large election. Lynn Branderhorst was voted in for ward one. In ward three, Spencer Carlstone received only two votes more than opponent Bruce Schiebout.

Elisa Klahsen will take the director at-large seat for the Pella School District. Jesse Peterson won the director district one race. Joan M. Corbin ran unopposed in director district two.

Pleasantville voters elected Brandon Pennington as mayor and Jordan Van Ness and Jon Koehn and Rachel L. Lopez as at-large city council members.

Ron Danks and Shane Sorenson will serve as directors at-large on the school board.

Four candidates were vying for the two available Knoxville School director at-large seats. Monica Sullivan and Larry M. Scott came out victorious.

Stephanie Stern received the most votes for the Twin Cedars director at-large seat. Heather Dunkin ran unopposed for district three.

Shannon Rabotski can be reached at srabotski@oskyherald.com.

Trending Video

Recommended for you