Joslyn Terpstra

Pella Christian's Joslyn Terpstra won the girls race at Knoxville

KNOXVILLE — It was a brutal night for cross country running, and a pair of the area’s rapidly improving cross country girl’s teams rose above the conditions to post outstanding efforts Tuesday night in Knoxville.

The course layout on the Pine Knolls Golf Course has always been known as one of the toughest courses in southern Iowa. Then when you add 90 degree temperatures and high humidity to the mix, it becomes a monster to conquer.

Probably the top story of the meet would be Pella Christian’s Joslyn Terpstra. Terpstra, in her rookie year of cross country, has rapidly worked her way up the ladder as has become one of the top runners in the area. On this night she topped the field with an impressive 21:19 clocking over the hills of Pine Knolls. The Eagles also had the third place finisher in Jaclyn Holmes who was just behind Rylee Dunkin, the all-state runner from Twin Cedars.

Winterset won the girl’s title in a close tussle with Newton. The Huskies finished with 58 points while the Cardinals totaled 63 points. There was a tight three way battle for the third spot and Oskaloosa and Grinnell tied for third with 84 points while Pella Christian took the fifth spot with 88 points. The Knoxville Panthers were seventh with 150 points.

"Overall we didn't have a great night as we had some inconsistent performances across the board,” Oskaloosa head coach Michael Comfort said. “Some ran really well and some were off. We are coming off a tough block of training, but we also didn't handle the distractions of homecoming week well."

Oskaloosa ran well as a pack and they pushed each other to a fine team finish. Sage Adam was the Indians leader in ninth place while Anna Conigilo was 11th and Olivia Stodghill was 17th.

"Anna Coniglio and Olivia Stodghill ran dynamite races for the girls team,” Comfort said. “Both really stepped up for us today. Emmalee looked good in her return to varsity action."

The Knoxville leader was Olivia Maasdam in 23rd followed by Anna Buttell in 27th and Faith Roozeboom in 28th.

It was a loaded field in the boy’s race with the Johnston JV team winning with 52 points. Newton with 97 and Grinnell with 112 points rounded out the top three. Oskaloosa would finish seventh with 146 just ahead of Pella Christian with 147.

Patrick De Ronde continued his outstanding senior season with a second place finish behind Marshalltown’s Conner Smith. While the times were not what both runners were hoping for, they were very good under the conditions of the day. Completing the top three for the Indians would be Aden Scott 19th and Reid Luck 38th.

"Patrick ran his best race of the season as he finished second to the No. 10 runner in 4A,” Comfort said. “He fought hard and ran a gutsy race. Aden Scott and Reid Luck did a great job for us moving up throughout the race and leading the rest of the varsity pack. Jaison Anderson did really well in his first varsity race.”

Pella Christian would be led by Ryan Natelborg in 22nd place, while Kaden Van Wyngarden was 25th and Danny Andringa was 32nd.

Knoxville finished tenth and the Panthers were led by Seth Walraven in 14th place, followed by Max Purvis in 40th and Andrew Jackson in 47th.

Girl’s Team Results:

Oskaloosa: 9 – Sage Adam (23:38), 11 – Anna Conigilio (23:56), 17 – Olivia Stodghill (24:50), 21 – Emmalee Wells-St (26:05), 26 – Evie Adam (26:49), 30 – Addi Carter (27:24), 35 – Faith Coniglio (28:50)

Pella Christian: 1 – Joslyn Terpstra (21:19), 3 – Jaclyn Holmes (21:40), 22 – Metje Michmershuizen (26:07), 25 – Karis Fikkert (26:37), 38 – Paige Lauterbach (30:24)

Knoxville: 23 – Olivia Maasdam (26:11), 27 - Anna Buttell (26:54), 28 – Faith Roozeboom (26:55), 32 – Natalie Collins (27:41), 40 – Janie Maasdam (30:48)

Boy’s Team Results:

Oskaloosa: 2 – Patrick DeRonde (17:13), 19 - Aden Scott (19:13), 38 – Reid Luck (19:53), 43 – Phillip Abrahamson (20:05), 44 – William Leonard (20:07), 55 – Reed Peterson (20:59), 59 – Jaison Anderson (21:17)

Pella Christian: 22 – Ryan Natelborg (19:17), 25 – Kaden Van Wyngarden (19:19), 32 – Danny Andringa (19:36), 33 - Brant VanderHart (19:39), 35 – Ben Gosselink 19:46), 66 – Deacon Branderhorst (21:48), 70 - Micah DeHaan (22:17)

Knoxville: 14 – Seth Walraven (18:58), 40 – Max Purvis (19:58), 47 – Andrew Jackson (20:14), 52 – Peter Picard (20:50), 57 – Joey Hembrook (21:09), 63 – John Buttell (21:39), 69 – Kaden McGill (22:07)

Trending Video

Recommended for you