DES MOINES — The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2021 girls basketball all-state teams on Tuesday. Pella Christian’s Allison Van Gorp was a third team selection in Class 2A while Knoxville’s Maggie Wilkins was a first team selection in Class 3A.

Van Gorp, a senior, earns her first career all-state selection for the Eagles. She nearly helped guide a regional semifinal upset over eventual state tournament semifinalist West Branch. She had 12 double-doubles on a season against mostly 4A competition in the Little Hawkeye Conference and went for 23 points and 18 rebounds in a 10-point win over Montezuma, one of just two losses on the season for Monte.

On the season, Van Gorp averaged 16.4 points on 51% shooting with 10.8 rebounds, 1.8 steals and 2.0 blocks per game. The 6-foot-2 center also crossed the 1,000 career points plateau during the year. Van Gorp is committed to play basketball at Central College. She was also a second team selection from the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

Wilkins, a senior, gets her second all-state nod after being selected as a Class 4A third teamer a year ago. She would guide Knoxville to a 15-6 record this season while passing the 1,500 career points mark.

On the season, Wilkins would average 23.8 points (second in 3A) while shooting 43.4% from the floor, 35.2% from deep and 76.8% from the line to go with 4.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 4.0 steals per game. She is committed to play basketball at Wartburg College. She was also a second team selection by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

Katie Dinnebier, of Waukee, was selected as Miss Iowa Basketball 2021 by the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association in a meeting Saturday.

Dinnebier played in only 12 games in an abbreviated season for the Class 5A state-champion Warriors (13-1).

She averaged 19.1 points, 3.8 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 3.5 steals per game, shooting 56.4 percent from the field, 45.7 percent from 3-point range and 83.0 percent from the free throw line.

A Drake University signee, Dinnebier was at her best in the state tournament, scoring 20-plus points in all three games at Wells Fargo Arena. That included a 29-point effort (on 11-of-14 shooting) in the Warriors’ 71-43 victory over Johnston in the 5A championship game Friday.

The 5-foot-8 point guard scored 979 points in her career, in which Waukee went 73-14 and reached the state tournament all four years. The Warriors were 5A runners-up in 2020.

Certificates can be generated as PDFs for players selected to all-state by visiting the “Create Certificates” link on our website,

Sports writers attending the meeting included Daryl Schepanski (Anamosa Journal-Eureka), Scott Spurgeon (Bloomfield Democrat), Troy Hyde (Newton News), Colin Peters (Oskaloosa Herald), Nick Petaros (Waterloo Courier), Zachary Martin (Quad-City Times), Andy Krutsinger (Southeast Iowa Union), Dale Wegner (The Sac Sun), Ross Thede (Marshalltown Times-Republican), Kyle Ocker (Ottumwa Courier), Jeff Linder (Cedar Rapids Gazette), Perry Bell (Marion County Express), Jim Johnson (Southeast Iowa Union), Greg Grabianowski (Algona Publishing), Matt Gengler (Missouri Valley Times-News), Brian Rathjen (Atlantic News Telegraph), Paul Sonius (Globe Gazette) and Ross Eberhart (The Observer).

Coaches attending the meeting included Jamie Smith (Solon), Jesse Cox (Lenox), Jay Wright (Bishop Heelan), BJ Mayer (Iowa City West), Cory O'Brien (Waterloo Columbus Catholic), Brian Wheatley (North Linn), Don Logan (IBCA), Donnie Kremer (Monticello), Adam Jones (Dallas Center-Grimes), Brian Eisbach (Nodaway Valley), Gregg Groen (Cedar Falls), Chris Guess (Waukee), Josh Claypool (Marion), Dr. Anthony W. Pappas (Waterloo West), and Curt Watson (Mount Pleasant).

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association was founded in February 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting all-state teams for Iowa high school sports.

Class 4A


Abbie Draper (Waverly-Shell Rock, SR)

Taylor Veach (Central DeWitt, JR)

Katelyn Lappe (Bondurant-Farrar, JR)

Jenna Hopp (Glenwood, SO)

Allison Meadows (Central DeWitt, JR)

Ella Van Weelden (Marion, SR)

Molly Ihle (Ballard, SR)

Ava Hawthorne (Gilbert, JR)


Ashley Fountain (North Scott, SR)

Emma Donovan (Dubuque Wahlert, SO)

Jenna Twedt (Benton, SO)

Calia Clubb (Clear Creek-Amana, JR)

Madison Camden (Glenwood, JR)

Paige Andersen (Denison-Schleswig, SR)

Emma Miner (Dallas Center-Grimes, SO)

Ivey Schmidt (Grinnell, JR)


Kelsey Fields (Creston, SR)

Malarie Ross (Fort Madison, JR)

Sadie Struchen (Marion, JR)

Lexi Turner (Cedar Rapids Xavier, SO)

Andrea Lopreato (Mount Pleasant, SO)

Brooke Loewe (Ballard, JR)

Claire Schmitz (Harlan, JR)

Samantha Scott (North Scott, SR)

Class 3A


Maggie Wilkins (Knoxville, SR)

Gracie Schoonhoven (Unity Christian, SO)

Janie Schoonhoven (Unity Christian, SR)

Brooklyn Meyer (West Lyon, JR)

JeMae Nichols (Cherokee, SR)

Macy Daufeldt (West Liberty, JR)

Ryley Goebel (Center Point-Urbana, JR)

Mya Merschman (Central Lee, SR)


Moriah Prewitt (Des Moines Christian, SR)

Jaydan Nitchals (Estherville-Lincoln Central, JR)

Callie Levin (Solon, FR)

Gabrielle Guilford (Monticello, SR)

Haley Rasmussen (Atlantic, SR)

Katy Reyerson (West Marshall, SO)

Payton Beckman (Panorama, JR)

Sydney Marlow (West Burlington, SR)


Dani Johnson (Osage, SR)

Claire Mathews (Centerville, SR)

Finley Hall (West Liberty, SO)

Reagan Barkema (Roland-Story, JR)

Jaden Ainley (Clear Lake, JR)

Lucy Howes-Vonstein (Vinton-Shellsburg, SR)

Kenley Meis (Sioux City Bishop Heelan, SO)

Kendal Clark (Humboldt, SR)

Class 2A


Ella Imler (Maquoketa Valley, SR)

Emerson Whittenbaugh (Maquoketa Valley, SR)

Isabel Manning (Van Buren County, SR)

Kamryn Kurt (North Linn, FR)

Maddax DeVault (Nodaway Valley, JR)

Rachel Leerar (West Hancock, SR)

Sasha Koenig (West Branch, SR)

Sophia Hoffmann (Dike-New Hartford, JR)


Ali Vesely (Waterloo Columbus, SR)

Ellie Ware (North Linn, SR)

Kelsey Drake (Wilton, JR)

Kennedy Kelly (West Hancock, JR)

Lindsey Davis (Nodaway Valley, FR)

Mallory McCall (West Monona, SR)

Payton Petersen (Dike-New Hartford, FR)

Taya Tucker (Maquoketa Valley, SR)


Alison Van Gorp (Pella Christian, SR)

Kailey Jones (AHSTW, SR)

Abbie Schany (Emmetsburg, SR)

Abby Heemstra (Rock Valley, SR)

Hannah Dau (South O’Brien, SR)

Hayden Heimensen (Central Lyon, SR)

Lainey Thoren (Grundy Center, JR)

Morgan Brandt (Sumner-Fredericksburg, JR)

To view 5A and 1A selections to go to

Colin Peters can be reached at 641-672-2581, by email at or on Twitter @ColinPetersOH.

Trending Video

Recommended for you