April 30, 2013

Pella notches two records, two titles at LHC meet

Osky shuttle hurdle boys team sets school record



On the girls side, Oskaloosa grabbed two individual titles and the shuttle hurdle relay. Kenzie Gunter won the 100 hurdles with a time of 16.55 seconds while Oskaloosa’s lone Drake Relays participant, Taylor Richardson, grabbed the long jump with a leap of 17-feet, 7.75 inches. The relay team of Allie Christenson, Kelsie Tomlin, Gunter and Richardson, won in 1:08.97.
The efforts brought praise from their coach Betsy Luck.
“I was really proud of the girls and their effort,” said Luck. “We set season bests in all of our relays but the distance med. This is a really tough conference. We have a lot of really good athletes.”
Another impressive performance came from Knoxville’s Wick Cunningham. He won the 3,200 and 1,600 meters. Following a performance at Drake, where he broke a 40-year-old school record in the mile, Cunningham posted a 4:37.13 in the event winning by seven seconds. In the 3,200, Cunningham had a five-second win with a time of 9:58.71.
Little Hawkeye Conference
Track Championships
Boys Results
Team Scores: 1. Pella 168; 2. Knoxville 136; 3. Newton 70; 4. Oskaloosa 68; 5. Norwalk, 58; 6. Grinnell 38; 7. Pella Christian 19.
High Jump: 1. Chase Onken, NO, 6-04; 2. Jacob Moats,K, 6-02; 3. Derek Van Kooten, PC, 6-02; 4. Noah Clayberg, P, 5-10; 5. Ryan Reiter, O, 5-10; 6. Nick Moorhead, G, 5-10.
Long jump: 1. Derek VanKooten, PC, 20-10.25; 2. Drew Richmond, O, 20-09.75; 3. Ryan Douglas, K, 20-09.25; 4. Dakota Hills, NE, 20-03.50; 5. Kolby Greenslade, NO, 19-02.50; 6. Chase Van Sant, P, 18-08.50.
Shot put: 1. Derrick Hurt, NE, 51-09.75; 2. Cody DeKruyff, P, 46-08.50; 3. Joe Stearns, K, 43-11.25; 4. Trey Mateer, NO, 43-11.25; 5. Nathan Winters, K, 43-02.50; 6. Jacob Wills, O, 42-08.50.
Discus: 1. Derrick Hurt, NE, 147-11; 2. Garret Jansen, P, 142-09; 3. Brandon Strasser, O, 140-10.50; 4. Nathan Winters, K, 140-05; 5. Ben Konfrst, P, 128-04; 6. Zakk Weatherly, N, 124-03.50.
3,200 Meter Relay: 1. P Aaron Houtz, Michael Etnyre, Ryan Sievers, Wade Pingel, 8:19.44. 2. G  Zachary McGriff, Andy Cunningham, Nick Moorhead, Joe Nowasell, 8:29.12; 3. K Matt Hollingshead, Tyler Derringer, Justin Lenger, Jacob Moats, 8:35.21; 4. O Spencer DeJong, Caleb Fisher, Kameron Van Hulzen, Adam Carriker, 9:15.02; 5. NE Sean Cook, Justin Simms, Jwan Roush, Earl Kimmell, 9:26.61; 6. NO Ben Armstrong, Zachary Spurr, Sonny Onken, Brock Cazalet, 10:51.87.

Text Only
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints