April 18, 2014

McCarl takes Sprint Invaders' first-ever appearance at SIS



Just after Cayden Carter was scored the leader in the IMCA Stock Car feature the caution came out when Jason Minnehan had his whole steering column break in turn four. Carter had several heavy hitters behind him on the restart and he was able to hold them off until lap 13 when Zack VanderBeek took the lead away. A lap later, the final caution came out when Damon Murty spun in turn one. VanderBeek held on to take the win with Carter finishing second. Brad Pinkerton worked his way up to finish third, Nathan Wood came across in fourth and Donavon Nunnikhoven was fifth.
Final feature of the night was the IMCA Modifieds, but before a lap was completed the caution came out for a car sitting in turn one. Just like the week before, Cayden Carter jumped to the early lead but Todd Shute chased him down grabbed the lead away on lap seven. Shute never looked back as he took the win by about half the track. Carter held of late race challenges by Jesse Sobbing for second. Luke Wanninger and Scott Dickey rounded out the top five.
Next Wednesday night will be John’s Tree Service and Carter Manufacturing Night featuring a IMCA Sport Mod Special and Season Opener for the IMCA Sport Compacts. Also racing will be the IMCA Modifieds, Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks. Hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.
Southern Iowa Speedway
Pro-Line Buildings & WCM Metalworks Night
Wednesday's Results
Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders
A-Main: 1. Carson McCarl (Altoona); 3. Jon Agan (Knoxville); 4. Matt Moro (Polk City); 5. Jarrod Schneiderman (West Burlington); 6. Mike Houseman Jr. (Des Moines); 7. Dan Madsen (Sydney, Australia); 8. Tasker Phillips (Pleasantville); 9. Tony Shilling (Knoxville); 10. Josh Schneiderman (West Burlington); 11. Bret Triplett (Lincoln, Ill.); 12. Bobby Mincer (Burlington); 13. Mitchell Alexander (Knoxville); 14. Tim Moore (Rock Island, Ill.); 15. Kelly Graham (Collins); 16. 29 Russ Hall (Pleasant Hill); 17. Jimmy Davies (Oquawka, Ill.); 18. Dave Getchell (Sperry); 19. Wayne Johnson (Knoxville). DNS: CJ Houseman (Des Moines). DQ: Jonathan Cornell (Sedalia, Mo.)

Text Only
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints