May 10, 2013

Carter convincing in win at Benton County


Cayden Carter held off a succession of heavy-hitting veterans in winning Tuesday’s Karl Performance Hawkeye Dirt Tour presented by XSAN opener at Benton County Speedway.
The second-year IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified speedster started outside pole and was scored first on all but one of 30 circuits in the $1,000 to win main event. J.D. Auringer was inches ahead at the end of lap 19, but Carter was back in front for good the next time around.
      Scott Hogan caught Auringer for second following the final restart of the race, with seven laps to go. Colt Mather and Mark Schulte completed the top five.
      Auringer improved a dozen places from his original starting spot. Schulte was a plus 13 on the night.
      His series career first victory puts Carter on the ballot for this fall’s Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational. He’d withstood early race challenges from Patrick Flannagan and Richie Gustin.
      Nick Roberts started 10th, took the lead on the 12th of 15 laps and led to the checkers in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature.
      Benji Irvine won the caution-free 15-lapper for IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks despite driving off the track on the second set of turns with two laps to go.
      Tyler Whalen earned the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature win.
      The Hawkeye Dirt Tour makes its first-ever visit to Spencer and the Clay County Speedway next Thursday, May 16. That feature also pays $1,000 to win.
      Pit gates open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. with racing to follow.
      Feature Results
      Modifieds – 1. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 2. Scott Hogan, Vinton; 3. J.D. Auringer, Evansdale; 4. Colt Mather, Webster; 5. Mark Schulte, Delhi; 6. Racer Hulin, Laurel; 7. Josh Rogotzke, Sanborn, Minn.; 8. Mike Van Genderen, Newton; 9. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup; 10. Jake Bowman, Maquoketa; 11. Jerry Luloff, Independence; 12. Zach Less, Hopkinton; 13. Patrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 14. Jacob Murray, Hartford; 15. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 16. Joel Bushore, Boone; 17. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 18. Kyle Krampe, Baxter; 19. Mike Burbridge, Delhi; 20. Ed Thomas, Waterloo; 21. Matt Bonine, Onawa; 22. Joe Docekal, Dysart; 23. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill.; 24. Kyle Brown, Kellogg; 25. Vern Jackson, Waterloo; 26. Tyler Droste, Waterloo; 27. Jerry Dedrick, Vinton.

Text Only
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints