August 23, 2013

Vanderbeek wins again at the Southern Iowa Speedway

The Oskaloosa Herald


It’s been two weeks since  racing action took place at the Southern Iowa Speedway and three weeks since the last weekly track points night. 
On Wednesday night, the speedway returned to action and one driver got a victory on his birthday. 
After the heat races there was a Battle of the Classes with the Late Models, Modifieds, Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Sport Mods each having two cars out on track spread out around the track. Late Models had to go 6 laps, Modifieds 5.5 laps, Sport Mods 5.2 laps, Stock Cars 5 laps and Hobby Stocks 4.5 laps. Justin Hook took the win and Steve Allen finished second but if there was another lap they might not have since Damon Murty, a Stock Car and Late Models of Nick Marolf and Spencer Diercks were coming.
First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts feature and it was Bill Whalen Jr. grabbing the lead and never looking back despite several challenges from Merv Chandler. Trent Orwig came home in third position. 
      Aaron Osweiler grabbed the early lead in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stock feature but Mike Hughes worked his up from his ninth place starting spot to take the lead on lap seven. Hughes and the field saw the only caution come out on lap nine when Travis Bunnell hit the wall hard on the front stretch forcing his car to a stop. Hughes held on to take the win with Danny Thrasher in second. Bill Bonnett came home in third, Aaron Osweiler was fourth and Justin Hook was fifth. 
      In the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature, it was AJ Johnson grabbing the lead just like he did three weeks ago this time the caution waved on lap three when Bill Livezey experienced troubles in turn two. Johnson got a great restart but on lap four the caution waved when Tony Johnson made contact with Brett Lowry in turn four sending Lowry around. AJ Johnson continued to lead until Carter VanDenBerg made his way up to grab the top spot away on lap eight. VanDenBerg lead the remaining laps to take the win over AJ Johnson, Brett Lowry, Logan Anderson and Eric Flander. 
Brad Pinkerton once again grabbed the lead early in the Budweiser IMCA Stock Car feature and appeared to heading on to the win until fellow friend Zack Vanderbeek worked his way through the field. Vanderbeek chased down Pinkerton and made the pass on the last lap to take the win on his birthday. Pinkerton finished runner up again, Damon Murty was third, Todd Reitzler and Bill Osbahr rounded out the top five. 
      Just as the first lap was completed in the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models feature, Paul Glendenning spun on the front stretch forcing the yellow. Darrel DeFrance lead that lap and the remaining laps despite the caution coming out on lap thirteen when Spencer Diercks spun in turn four. DeFrance took the win with Track Champion Todd Cooney in second, Nick Marolf in third, Diercks in fourth and Glendenning in fifth.
      Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature saw Andrew Schroeder lead the opening lap, but just after the completion of that lap the caution came out when Jesse Sobbing experience a flat tire and got stuck up against the outside wall, Sobbing went and change that tire since he was trying to be William Gould in the National Points. Schroeder continued to lead it but after lap 2 was completed the caution came out again when Steve Pumphrey saw his engine expire going in turn one. On the restart, Schroeder was passed by Tyler Groenendyk but Groenendyk lead was short lived when Colt Mather grabbed the lead away just before the yellow on lap four. Mather pulled away and took the easy win over Groenendyk, Sobbing, Carter and Nick Deal. 
Next week will be Sept. 11 for Musco Lighting Night at the races, also on the card for that night is the Iowa Sportsman Series. 
Southern Iowa Speedway 
      Wednesday’s Results
KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models
      Feature: 1. Darrel DeFrance (Marshalltown); 2. Todd Cooney (Des Moines); 3. Nick Marolf (Moscow); 4. Spencer Diercks (Davenport); 5. Paul Glendenning (Mount Ayr); 6. Curt Schroeder (Ames); 7. Dylan Book (Adel); 8. Tommy Elston (Keouk). DNS — Jeremy Grady (Ames).
Heat: 1. Marolf; 2. Cooney; 3. Glendenning; 4. Diercks; 5. DeFrance; 6. Schroeder; 7. Book; 8. Elston; 9. Grady.
Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds
      Feature: 1. Colt Mather (Webster); 2. Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 3. Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 4. Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 5. Nick Deal (Walnut); 6. Jeff Joldersma (McClelland); 7. Dakota Hayden (Wilton); 8. William Gould (Calera, Okla.); 9. Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 10. Casey Greubel (Lacona); 11. Jerry Pilcher (Bloomfield); 12. Brandon Banks (Washington); 13. Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 14. Jacob Murray (Hartford); 15. Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 16. Jim Lynch (Bloomfield); 17. Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield). DNS —  Scott Dickey (Packwood). 
Heat 1: 1. Davis; 2. Carter; 3. Mather; 4. Banks; 5. Joldersma; 6. Deal; 7. Dickey; 8. Gibson; 9. Greubel.
Heat 2: 1. Groenendyk; 2. Schroeder; 3. Sobbing; 4. Pilcher; 5. Lynch; 6. Gould; 7. Hayden; 8. Pumphrey; 9. Murray.
Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars
      Feature: 1. Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 2. Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 3. Damon Murty (Chelsea); 4. Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 5. Bill Osbahr (Avoca); 6. Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 7. Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 8. Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 9. Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 10. Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 11. Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 12. Greg Harsch (Bloomfield); 13. Todd Phillips (Packwood); 14. Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant). DNS — Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully) 
Heat 1: 1. Cook; 2. Vogt; 3. Walker; 4. Vanderbeek; 5. Stout; 6. Wood; 7. Osbahr; 8. Pearson.
Heat 2: 1. Reitzler; 2.Murty; 3. Van Gorp; 4. Nunnikhoven; 5. Pinkerton; 6. Phillips; 7. Harsch.
Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods
      Feature: 1. Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 2. AJ Johnson (New Sharon); 3. Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 4. Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 5. Eric Flander (Barnes City); 6. Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 7. Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 8. Cory Van Zante (Sully); 9. Leroy Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 10. Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 11. Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 12. Greg Strohman (Webster); 13. Bill Livezey (New Sharon).
<\Bz28>Heat 1: 1. T. Johnson; 2. Lowry; 3. Anderson; 4. Livezey; 5. Flander; 6. Van Zante; 7. Strohman.
Heat 2: 1. VanDerWal; 2. AJ Johnson; 3. VanDenBerg; 4. Heckart; 5. Groenendyk; 6. Carter. 
Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks
      Feature: 1. Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. Danny Thrasher (Agency); 3. Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 4. Aaron Osweiler (South English); 5. Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 6. Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 7. Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 8. Jared Stephens (Bussey); 9. Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 10. Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 11. Jason See (Albia); 12. Adam Bonnett (Martensdale).
Heat 1: 1. Hughes; 2. B. Bonnett; 3. See; 4. Hook; 5. Bunnell; 6. Stephens.
Heat 2: 1. Allen; 2. Thrasher; 3. Griffiths; 4. Osweiler; 5. A. Bonnett; 6. Greene.
IMCA Sport Compacts
      Feature: 1. Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 2. Merv Chandler (Urbana); 3. Trent Orwig (Blakesburg).
Heat: 1. Whalen; 2. Chandler. DNS — Orwig.