August 23, 2013

Vanderbeek wins again at the Southern Iowa Speedway


It’s been two weeks since  racing action took place at the Southern Iowa Speedway and three weeks since the last weekly track points night. 
On Wednesday night, the speedway returned to action and one driver got a victory on his birthday. 
After the heat races there was a Battle of the Classes with the Late Models, Modifieds, Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Sport Mods each having two cars out on track spread out around the track. Late Models had to go 6 laps, Modifieds 5.5 laps, Sport Mods 5.2 laps, Stock Cars 5 laps and Hobby Stocks 4.5 laps. Justin Hook took the win and Steve Allen finished second but if there was another lap they might not have since Damon Murty, a Stock Car and Late Models of Nick Marolf and Spencer Diercks were coming.
First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts feature and it was Bill Whalen Jr. grabbing the lead and never looking back despite several challenges from Merv Chandler. Trent Orwig came home in third position. 
      Aaron Osweiler grabbed the early lead in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stock feature but Mike Hughes worked his up from his ninth place starting spot to take the lead on lap seven. Hughes and the field saw the only caution come out on lap nine when Travis Bunnell hit the wall hard on the front stretch forcing his car to a stop. Hughes held on to take the win with Danny Thrasher in second. Bill Bonnett came home in third, Aaron Osweiler was fourth and Justin Hook was fifth. 
      In the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature, it was AJ Johnson grabbing the lead just like he did three weeks ago this time the caution waved on lap three when Bill Livezey experienced troubles in turn two. Johnson got a great restart but on lap four the caution waved when Tony Johnson made contact with Brett Lowry in turn four sending Lowry around. AJ Johnson continued to lead until Carter VanDenBerg made his way up to grab the top spot away on lap eight. VanDenBerg lead the remaining laps to take the win over AJ Johnson, Brett Lowry, Logan Anderson and Eric Flander. 

Text Only
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints