March 29, 2013

Iowa youth basketball teams win state titles and advance to Minneapolis

The Oskaloosa Herald

OSKALOOSA — A pair of Pella squads were among 10 Iowa youth basketball teams won Pacesetter Iowa State Championships last weekend at UNI in Cedar Falls and at Kingdom Hoops Complex in Ankeny as over 70 teams competed Saturday and Sunday.

For the girls, Cedar Falls (fifth-grade), Tipton (sixth-grade), Pella (seventh-grade), Waverly-Shell Rock (eighth-grade) and Okoboji (ninth-grade) won state titles. For the boys, Ames (fifth-grade), Linn-Mar (sixth-grade), Cedar Falls (seventh-grade), Pella (eighth-grade), and Ankeny (ninth-grade) won state championships.

For the fifth-grade girls, Cedar Falls, the No. 4 seed, upset Waterloo West 27-21 and MFL MarMac 19-15 to win the championship. Dunkerton took third place with a win over Waterloo West 27-17.

For the sixth-grade girls, Tipton knocked off Central Decatur for the state championship 22-19 while Waterloo upended Pella 24-23 for third place. West Fork won the consolation championship with a 19-12 win over Danville.

In the seventh-grade girls’ bracket, Pella won a squeaker over Indianola 22-20 in the title game while Sioux City North took third place with a39-27 win over Independence. Bishop Garrigan earned the consolation championship.

The Waverly-Shell Rock girls claimed the eighth-grade state championship with a 29-25 win over Linn-Mar. Cascade won third place with a 27-25 win over Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock. Lone Tree won the consolation championship with a 25-19 win over Sioux City North.

Okoboji defended its title with a convincing 35-24 win over Cardinal in the ninth-grade girls’ championship. AGWRS took third place.

For the fifth-grade boys, Ames defeated Waterloo 32-25 for the championship. Algona took third place with a 20-17 win over Forest City.

For the sixth-grade boys, Linn-Mar downed Cedar Rapids for the state title while Ankeny won third place and Pella took consolation championship honors.

The seventh-grade featured a 3-way battle for the championship between 2012 Great State champion, Pella, Cedar Falls and Mount Pleasant. Cedar Falls nudged Mount Pleasant 41-40 in the semis and knocked off Pella 52-42 in the championship. Mount Pleasant won third place with a 42-26 win over Ames. Nevada took fifth place and Ankeny won the consolation championship.

Another 2012 Great State champion, Pella, defended itsr state title by subduing Waterloo BAM 63-40 in the eight-grade bracket. Linn-Mar won third place with a 44-40 win over Emmetsburg, and Nevada earned the consolation championship with a 52-39 win over Mason City.

Ankeny, another Great State champion, defended its title with a 47-37 win over West Hancock. Cascade took third place with a 49-37 win over Algona, and Green Co. won the consolation title.

The runner-up teams also qualify for the Pacesetter Great Four-State Championship at the Target Center in Minneapolis which pits Iowa teams against the top two teams from Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota in a one-day, 8-team tournament, so 20 Iowa teams will advance to Minneapolis including the three Iowa teams defending Great Four-State championships: Pella — 7th grade boys, Pella — 8th grade boys, and Ankeny — 9th grade boys.

The Great State championships at the Target Center will be held in July and August.  All brackets and results from other states will be posted on the Pacesetter website at www.pacesetternet.com.