December 4, 2012

Indian wrestlers snap 6-year tourney drought

The Oskaloosa Herald

NEW LONDON — Oskaloosa’s wrestling team recorded its first tournament title in six years as the Indians won the New London Tournament on Saturday.

The Indians picked up four individual champions in Nate Caves, Andrew Landgrebe, Mason Wisse and Dane Jones. Placing second were Skylar DeJong and Cody Jones while the trio of Mitchell Schaffner, Zach Fletcher and Hunter Sherwood came in third in their weight classes. Coming in fourth were Drea Lamb and Zayne McKay while Nick Beebe placed fifth and Andy Bonilla was sixth.

“The coaching staff was extremely pleased with the way our wrestlers performed,” Oskaloosa coach Brandon Graham said. “We had nine matches where our wrestlers came from behind to get pins. We encourage our kids to do their best and never give up.”

The Indians will be at Winterset on Thursday for their next mat action.