February 10, 2014

Rockets send 10 wrestlers to district tourney


Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, ranked second in Class 1A, dominated its sectional tournament on Saturday.
The Rockets will send seven sectional champions and three runners-up to next week’s district tournament in Pleasantville.
They racked up 275 points to easily outdistance second-place Sigourney-Keota, which had 183 points.
Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont will send Tanner Rea, Jeren Glosser, Blake Marolf, Tucker Black, Tyler Foubert, Dillon Pigsley and Hunter Johnston to districts as champions while the trio of Josh Johnson, Cody Brown and Luke Welch collected runner-up finishes.
Class 1A
Sectional Wrestling Tournament
At Eddyville
Team standings — 1. Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont 275, 2. Sigourney-Keota 183, 3. Tri-County/Montezuma 133.5, 4. Cardinal 119, 5. Pleasantville 101.5, 6. Moravia 89.5, 7. North Mahaska 72.5, 8. Wayne 67.
North Mahaska, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Results
106 — Tanner Rea (EBF) received bye in first round; Rea pinned Drayton Hamm (C), 1:07 in semifinal; dec. Kale Latcham (TCM), 12-6 in final. Finished sectional champion.
113 — Griffin Molenburg (NM) pinned Travis Lewis (TCM), 1:51 in first round; Ryan Cale (C), pinned Molenburg, 1:30 in semifinal; Adam Proctor (EBF) pinned Molenburg, 5:52 in consolation semifinal. Finished fourth.
113 — Adam Proctor (EBF) received bye in first round; Briar Cochran (M) tech. called Proctor, 2:10 (17-2) in semifinal; Proctor pinned Molenburg (NM), 5:52 in consolation semifinal; Ryan Cale (C) pinned Proctor, :34 in wrestleback. Finished third.
120 — Andrew Hart (EBF) pinned Zane Baty (M), 3:06 in first round; Griffin McBride (P) pinned Hart, 1:19 in semifinal; Mason Garber (TCM) pinned Hart, 1:42 in consolation semifinal. Finished third.
126 — Andrew Jedlicka (NM) pinned Buddy Fett (P), :37 in first round; Ben Edmundson (TCM) pinned Jedlicka, 1:32 in semifinal; Dallas Price (M) pinned Jedlicka, 2:31 in consolation semifinal. Finished fourth.
126 — Josh Johnson (EBF) received bye in first round; Johnson pinned Dallas Price (M), 1:41 in semifinal; Ben Edmundson (TCM) dec. Johnson, 11-4 in final. Finished sectional runner-up.
132 — Logan Mitchell (M) pinned Shaun Clark (NM), 3:54 in first round; Clark received bye in consolation first round; Clark tech. called Jared Warner (P), 4:30 (15-0) in fifth-place match. Finished fifth.

Text Only
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints