April 29, 2014

Falck, Crapser claim USRA Iron Man Challenge checkers at Bloomfield

The Oskaloosa Herald


Kyle Falck (USRA Stock Cars) and Cory Crapser (USRA B-Mods) captured the feature wins Friday night as the Iron Man Challenge invaded the Bloomfield Speedway.
      On the heels of two straight wins to open the 2014 campaign, Tom Schmitt took command at the start of the 20-lap USRA Stock Car main event.
      The 2012 Iron Man champ relinquished the top spot to Falck on lap 5 only to regain the lead two laps later.
      It was another short-lived stint, however, as defending Iron Man Challenge champion Mitch Hovden took command just before the race’s halfway point.
      With three laps to go, Hovden was solidly in control when he bounced through a rough patch on the 3/8-mile clay oval and nearly sent his machine onto its side.
      Before he could regain his momentum, Hovden was fourth and Falck was the new leader.
      Falck went on to claim the $750 top prize with Mike Hughes, Dillon Anderson, Hovden and Jerry Pilcher following in second through fifth.
      Schmitt held on to finish sixth.
      A short but stout field of USRA B-Mods were on hand, with Dan Wheeler getting the jump at the drop of the green flag.
      Slowly but surely, Crapser reeled in Wheeler and the defending Iron Man titlist took command on lap 8.
      Crapser paced wheeler to the checkered flag eight laps later to garner the $600 first-place money while Carter VanDenBerg, Jim Gillenwater and Jared Timmerman made up the first five to the finish line.
United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series/Iron Man Challenge
Bloomfield Speedway
Friday’s Results
USRA Stock Cars
Heat 1 (8 laps): 1. Kyle Falck, Decorah; 2. Mike Hughes, Oskaloosa; 3. Riley Newton, Bloomfield; 4. Chris Hawkins, Bloomfield; 5. Philip Wernert, Galesville, Wis.; 6. Danny Sacquitne, Decorah.
Heat 2 (8 laps): 1. Mitch Hovden, Decorah; 2. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 3. Todd Staley, Webster City; 4. Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.; 5. Doug Sylvester, Ottumwa; 6. Brad Egbert, Bloomfield.
Heat 3 (8 laps): 1. Dillon Anderson, Decorah; 2. Steve Jackson, Polk City; 3. Sean Foster, Smithville, Mo.; 4. Jerry Pilcher, Ottumwa; 5. Derrick Agee, Moberly, Mo.; 6. Brian Webb, Decorah; 7. Malcolm Teachout, Livermore.
Feature (20 laps): 1. Kyle Falck, Decorah; 2. Mike Hughes, Oskaloosa; 3. Dillon Anderson, Decorah; 4. Mitch Hovden, Decorah; 5. Jerry Pilcher, Ottumwa; 6. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 7. Brian Webb, Decorah; 8. Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.; 9. Doug Sylvester, Ottumwa; 10. Philip Wernert, Galesville, Wis.; 11. Derrick Agee, Moberly, Mo.; 12. Danny Sacquitne, Decorah; 13. Todd Staley, Webster City; 14. Riley Newton, Bloomfield; 15. Steve Jackson, Polk City; 16. Chris Hawkins, Bloomfield; 17. Sean Foster, Smithville, Mo. DNS – Brad Egbert, Bloomfield; Malcolm Teachout, Livermore.
Lap Leaders: Schmitt 1-4, Falck 5-6, Schmitt 7-8, Hovden 9-17, Falck 18-20. Points: Schmitt 281, Hovden 277, Jackson 234, Wernert 215, Steve Herrick 156, Newman 146, Falck 145, Jim Powell 144, Foster 113, Hughes 95.
Heat (8 laps): 1. Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.; 2. Dan Wheeler, Savage, Minn.; 3. Jim Gillenwater, Keokuk; 4. Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 5. Jared Timmerman, Norwalk; 6. Reggie Gainer, Palmyra, Mo.; 7. Matt Herring, Corning; 8. Scott VanBuskirk, Hedrick; 9. Jared Miller, Bloomfield.
Feature (15 laps): 1. Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.; 2. Dan Wheeler, Savage, Minn.; 3. Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 4. Jim Gillenwater, Keokuk; 5. Jared Timmerman, Norwalk; 6. Scott VanBuskirk, Hedrick; 7. Reggie Gainer, Palmyra, Mo.  DNS – Matt Herring, Corning; Jared Miller, Bloomfield.
Lap Leaders: Wheeler 1-7, Crapser 8-15. Points: Timmerman 403, Logan Martin 381, Wheeler 354, Jake Richards 345, Ethan Isaacs 343, Jacob Bleess 306, Crapser 302, Mike Higley 302, Tim Van Gotten 274, Bryan Rigsby 249.