January 21, 2014

Wisse takes home title as Indians place 10th at J-Hawk Invite

The Oskaloosa Herald


Oskaloosa finished 10th at the Cedar Rapids Jefferson J-Hawk Invitational Saturday with one individual champion.
The Indians racked up 86.5 points and crowned Mason Wisse champion at 182 pounds. They also had a third-place finish from Skylar DeJong at 120 while Cody Jones and Callan Tomlin were fourth at 170 and 285, respectively.
Oskaloosa coach Brandon Graham was extremely proud of his squad. 
"Our wrestlers are starting to peak at the right time of year and we hope better things to come in the next few weeks," he said.
Cedar Rapids Jefferson J-Hawk Invitational 
Team standings — 1. Cedar Rapids Jefferson 241, 2. West Delaware 172, 3. Clinton 166.5, 4. Alburnett 159.5, 5. Dubuque Hempstead 135, 6 Fort Madison 127, 7. Boone 105, 8. Fort Dodge 102.5, 98. Johnston 92, 10. Oskaloosa 86.5, 11. Marshalltown 50, 12. Benton 42, 13. Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson 37, 14. Muscatine 30, 15. Waterloo East 17, 16. Lake Forest Academy 0.
Oskaloosa Results
106 - Drew Sams pinned Sam Cruthis (Clinton), 1:35 in first round; Alec Ksiazek (Johnston) dec. Drew Sams, 6-3 in quarterfinal;  Sams pinned Dante Seaney (Fort Madison), 3:28 in consolation second round; Ben Moyer (Alburnett) dec. Sams, 5-4 in consolation semifinal.
113 — Ethan Ksiazek (Johnston) maj. dec. Josh Diehl, 12-1 in first round; Diehl received a bye in consolation first round; Adam Darley (Fort Madison) dec. Diehl, 9-8 in consolation second round.
120 — Skylar DeJong pinned Tucker Franklin (Alburnett), 1:51) in first round; DeJong tech. called Keaton Sherwood (Benton), 5:52 (22-5)  in quarterfinal; Henry Pohlmeyer (Johnston) 25-0 dec. DeJong, 6-3 in semifinal; DeJong (Oskaloosa) dec. Tanner Hocker (Fort Madison), 8-7 in third-place match.
126 — Bryce Meyer (Fort Madison) pinned Nick Beebe, :44 in first round; Nick Beebe dec. Cody Sahr (Waterloo East), 9-8 in consolation first round; Shane Vaughan (Johnston) dec. Nick Beebe, 7-1 in consolation second round.
132 — Willis Knox dec. Jacob Jones (Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson), 5-2 in first sound; Michael Moncivais (Cedar Rapids Jefferson) pinned Knox, 1:26 in consolation first round; Knox pinned Mitch O'Hare (Marshalltown), 4:00 in consolation second round; Connor Wickman (West Delaware) pinned Knox, :54 in consolation semifinal.
170  — Cody Jones received a bye in first round;  Jones pinned Jarrett Sykes (Fort Madison), :31 in quarterfinal; Brent Lammers (West Delaware) dec. Cody Jones, 5-3 in semifinal; Kane Springis (Boone) dec. Jones, 6-1 in third-place match.
182 — Mason Wisse pinned Brad Baker (Fort Madison), 1:10 in first round; Wisse maj. dec. Ben Rebik (Marshalltown), 14-1 in quarterfinal;  Wisse dec. Brandon Haas (Dubuque Hempstead), 3-1 in overtime in semifinal;  Wisse pinned Dillion Chase (Clinton), 4:54 in championship match.
195 — Kyler Salazer received a bye in first round; Justin Guilliams (Clinton) maj. dec. Salazer, 14-2 in first round; Scott Taylor (West Delaware) dec. Salazer, 4-0 in consolation second round. 
220 — Callan Tomlin received a bye in first round; Tomlin (Oskaloosa) pinned Deji Akere (Lake Forest Academy), 2:25 in quarterfinal; Gannon Gremmel (Dubuque Hempstead) pinned Tomlin, 3:55 in semifinal; Dalton Kuehl (Cedar Rapids Jefferson) pinned Tomlin, 1:09 in third-place match.