May 28, 2014

Johnny Scott back in USMTS winners circle at Upper Iowa Speedway

William Penn University


Johnny Scott found a way around Kelly Shryock with five laps to go and found his way back to victory lane Sunday night as the USMTS Casey's Cup powered by Swan Energy put the wraps on a memorable Memorial Day Weekend at the Upper Iowa Speedway.
Shryock, who earned the Sybesma Graphics Pole Award earlier in the program, set sail at the start of the 40-lap main event with Todd Scharkey, Zack VanderBeek and Scott in tow.
VanderBeek got by Scharkey for second on lap 3 and Scott followed into third one lap later as the lead trio took off on a three-car battle that lasted the rest of the race.
Back-to-back cautions with six laps to go slowed the action and Scott went searching on the high side when the field went back to green.
Relegated to the outside line for the restart, the 24-year-old from Las Cruces, N.M., found the top of the track to his liking and he blasted in front of VanderBeek on the restart.
One lap later, Scott powered around the outside of Shryock in turn 4 and took the lead for the first time-and for good-as they completed lap 35.
The win, worth $2,000, was Scott's first since winning at the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas, on March 20, and the 25 victory of his United States Modified Touring Series career.
VanderBeek, who has 24 lifelong wins to his credit, followed Scott's lead and jumped to the outside of Shryock, nipping the nine-time USMTS national champion by a bumper's length at the flagstand for second place.
Stormy Scott started 13th on the grid and climbed to a fourth-place finish to garner his third straight Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award of the weekend.
Dereck Ramirez snagged the fifth spot while Bryan Rowland, Lucas Schott, 17th-starting Josh Angst, Jason Schlangen and Joey Jensen rounded out the top 10.
Next up for the Best of the Best will be a Tuesday, June 3, visit to the Marshalltown Speedway in Marshalltown, with the Iron Man Challenge featuring USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods joining the USMTS Modifieds on the high-banked bullring's racing card.
Upper Iowa Speedway
Sunday's Results
Heat Race Winners (8 laps): 1. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 2. Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.; 3. Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla.; 4. Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.; 5. Daniel Hilsabeck, Waukee; 6. Josh Angst, Winona, Minn.; 7. Austin Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; 8. Joe Horgdal, Kasson, Minn.
Heat 2 (8 laps): 1. Jason Schlangen, Cresco; 2. Corey Dripps, Waterloo; 3. Todd Scharkey, Kasson, Minn.; 4. Bryan Rowland, Woodward, Okla.; 5. Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.; 6. Darwin Karau, Kasson, Minn.; 7. Clayton Wagamon, Blaine, Minn.; 8. Casey Arneson, Fargo, N.D.
Heat 3 (8 laps): 1. Brent Larson, Lake Elmo, Minn.; 2. Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon; 3. Chris Oertel, Marshfield, Wis.; 4. Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.; 5. Pat Graham, Ames; 6. Joey Jensen, Harris, Minn.; 7. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, Minn.
A Main (40 laps): 1. Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.; 2. Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon; 3. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 4. Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.; 5. Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla.; 6. Bryan Rowland, Woodward, Okla.; 7. Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.; 8. Josh Angst, Winona, Minn.; 9. Jason Schlangen, Cresco; 10. Joey Jensen, Harris, Minn.; 11. Daniel Hilsabeck, Waukee; 12. Chris Oertel, Marshfield, Wis.; 13. Clayton Wagamon, Blaine, Minn.; 14. Brent Larson, Lake Elmo, Minn.; 15. Darwin Karau, Kasson, Minn.; 16. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, Minn.; 17. Pat Graham, Ames; 18. Joe Horgdal, Kasson, Minn.; 19. Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.; 20. Corey Dripps, Waterloo; 21. Todd Scharkey, Kasson, Minn.; 22. Casey Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; 23. Austin Arneson, Fargo, N.D.