May 3, 2013

Spencer Diercks wins Late Models on last-lap pass

The Oskaloosa Herald

---- — OSKALOOSA — All day temperatures were in the 70s in Oskaloosa, but by the time the races started, it was 20-to-30 degrees cooler and the wind was coming from the north.

That didn’t stop the speedway from seeing some action on Watters Autoland Late Model Season Opener and Pro Line Building Company Free Popcorn Night.

Tom Darbyshire grabbed the early race lead in the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models feature, but on lap 5, the power plant expired forcing him to a stop in turn 1 and the yellow flag to wave. Kevin Kile inherited the lead on the restart and lead until lap 9 when Todd Cooney grabbed the lead away. A few laps later on lap 12, the caution waved when Colby Springsteen spun out on the backstretch. Cooney looked to being pulling away but Spencer Diercks got by Kevin Kile on lap 16 and chased down Cooney. Diercks made the move and pass in turn 3 to take the victory over Todd Cooney. Kevin Kile, Andy Eckrich and Chad Cooney rounded out the top 5.

In the IMCA Sport Compacts feature, it was John Whalen leading from start-to-finish in the 10 lap feature. Bill Whalen Jr. finish second, Merv Chandler was third, Alex Sampson was fourth and Matt Moore was fifth.

Donavon Nunnikhoven lead the first lap in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature but just after the completion of lap one, the caution waved for Dustin Griffiths in turn 4. On the restart, Nunnikhoven was passed by Mike Hughes and Hughes looked to continue right where he left on Sunday in Knoxville. But then the caution came out on lap 9 for Aaron Osweiler. Hughes held off any challenges to take the win over Bobby Greene, Danny Thrasher, Nunnikhoven and Justin Hook.

“Mighty Mouse” Jason McDaniel lead from start-to-finish in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature, but he had several challenges from Tony and AJ Johnson in the early going. Then late in the race, it was Tony Johnson put challenges on McDaniel, McDaniel held off the challenges even after a caution on lap 14 that forced a green-white-checkered finish. McDaniel took the win with Tony Johnson in second. Eric Flander got by AJ Johnson for third meanwhile Carter VanDenBerg was fifth.

Randy Killen lead the first 7 laps in the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars feature before Zack Vanderbeek took the top spot away. Vanderbeek pulled away to grab the win over Nathan Wood, Randy Killen, Jason Cook and Corey Stout.

In the Musco Lighting IMCA Modified feature, it was Brandon Banks lead the first lap before Bill Gibson grabbed the lead. Gibson lead until lap 6 when Todd Shute grabbed the top spot. The first yellow came out for Casey Greubel in turn 4 on lap nine and then the next one came out on lap 11 for Cory Sample, Bill Davis Jr. and Jeff Waterman on the frontstretch. On the restart, Shute was passed by Jesse Sobbing. Sobbing went on to take the win meanwhile Jacob Murray got by Todd Shute for second. Cayden Carter was fourth and BillGibson was fifth.

Next Wednesday Night will be Kelli Steil State Farm Insurance Night plus IMCA Hobby Stock Special.

Southern Iowa Speedway

Wednesday’s Results

KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models

Feature — 1. Spencer Diercks (Davenport); 2. Todd Cooney (Des Moines); 3. Kevin Kile (West Liberty); 4. Andy Eckrich (Oxford); 5. Chad Cooney (Des Moines); 6. Matt Strassheim (Morning Sun); 7. Darrel DeFrance (Marshalltown); 8. Kurt Kile (Nichols); 9. Tommy Elston (Keokuk); 10. Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 11. Ben Nading (Ankeny); 12. Jacob Darbyshire (Morning Sun); 13. Curt Schroeder (Ames); 14. Colby Springsteen (Wapello); 15. Tom Darbyshire (Morning Sun). DNS — Nick Marolf (Moscow)

Heat 1 — 1. Kurt Kile; 2. DeFrance; 3. T. Cooney; 4. Diercks; 5. Springsteen; 6. Vanderbeek; 7. Schroeder; 8. Marolf.

Heat 2 — 1. Kevin Kile; 2. Elston; 3. Strassheim; 4. T. Darbyshire; 5. Eckrich; 6. C. Cooney; 7. Nading; 8. J. Darbyshire.

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

Feature — 1. Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 2. Jacob Murray (Hartford); 3. Todd Shute (Des Moines); 4. Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 5. Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 6. Casey Greubel (Lacona); 7. Matt Waugh (Des Moines); 8. Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 9. Tyler VandeKamp (Ankeny); 10. Brandon Banks (Washington); 11. Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 12. Tyler Groenenedyk (Oskaloosa); 13. Cory Sample (Winnemucca, Nev.); 14. Jeff Waterman (Quincy, Ill.). DNS — Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); Mark Widmar (Ottumwa).

Heat 1 — 1. Waterman; 2. Sobbing; 3. Davis; 4. Carter; 5. Banks; 6. VandeKamp; 7. Groenenedyk; 8. Waugh.

Heat 2 — 1. Gibson; 2. Shute; 3. Murray; 4. Sample; 5. Pumphrey; 6. Greubel; 7. Schroeder; 8. Widmar.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars

Feature — 1. Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 2. Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 3. Randy Killen (Des Moines); 4. Jason Cook (Mount Pleasant); 5. Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 6. Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 7. Shane Richardson (Morning Sun); 8. Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 9. Todd Phillips (Packwood); 10. Trent Jeanes (Chariton); 11. Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 12. Cole Simmons (Morning Sun); 13. Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 14. Tom Killen (Des Moines); 15. Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 16. Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 17. Carl Yaw Jr. (Pleasant Hill).

Heat 1 — 1. R. Killen; 2. Van Gorp; 3. Simmons; 4. Richardson; 5. Wood; 6. Phillips; 7. Pinkerton; 8. Pearson; 9. Welch.

Heat 2 — 1. Vanderbeek; 2. Cook; 3. Vogt; 4. Walker; 5. T. Killen; 6. Yaw; 7. Jeanes; 8. Stout.

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods

Feature — 1. Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 2. Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 3. Eric Flander (Barnes City); 4. AJ Johnson (New Sharon); 5. Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 6. Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, Kan.); 7. Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 8. Ryan Fullenkamp (Bloomfield); 9. Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 10. Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 11. Jason Hall (Grinnell); 12. Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 13. Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 14. Chris Ammenhauser (Ottumwa); 15. Rob Wilsey (Keokuk). DNS — Bill Livery (New Sharon).

Heat 1 — 1. T. Johnson; 2. VanDenBerg; 3. Lowry; 4. Flander; 5. A. Johnson; 6. Wilsey; 7. Anderson; 8. Livery.

Heat 2 — 1. McDaniel; 2. VanDerWal; 3. Heckart; 4. Kates; 5. Hall; 6. Carter; 7. Ammenhauser; 8. Fullenkamp.

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature — 1. Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 3. Danny Thrasher (Agency); 4. Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 5. Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 6. Dale Porter (Bloomfield); 7. Jamie Songer (Ankeny); 8. Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 9. Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 10. Cory Adams (Des Moines); 11. Aaron Osweiler (South English); 12. Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa).

Heat 1 — 1. Griffiths; 2. Songer; 3. Adams; 4. Porter; 5. Osweiler; 6. Bunnell.

Heat 2 — 1. Nunnikhoven; 2. Hughes; 3. Hook; 4. Bonnett; 5. Greene; 6. Thrasher.

IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature — 1. John Whalen (Ainsworth); 2. Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 3. Merv Chandler (Vinton); 4. Alex Sampson (Iowa City); 5. Matt Moore (Ottumwa); 6. Shawn Cooney (Des Moines); 7. Trent Orwig (Blakesburg)

Heat — 1. J. Whalen; 2. Sampson; 3. Chandler; 4. Moore; 5. B. Whalen; 6. Cooney; 7. Orwig.