Local News

May 3, 2013

Spencer Diercks wins Late Models on last-lap pass

OSKALOOSA — All day temperatures were in the 70s in Oskaloosa, but by the time the races started, it was 20-to-30 degrees cooler and the wind was coming from the north.

That didn’t stop the speedway from seeing some action on Watters Autoland Late Model Season Opener and Pro Line Building Company Free Popcorn Night.

Tom Darbyshire grabbed the early race lead in the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models feature, but on lap 5, the power plant expired forcing him to a stop in turn 1 and the yellow flag to wave. Kevin Kile inherited the lead on the restart and lead until lap 9 when Todd Cooney grabbed the lead away. A few laps later on lap 12, the caution waved when Colby Springsteen spun out on the backstretch. Cooney looked to being pulling away but Spencer Diercks got by Kevin Kile on lap 16 and chased down Cooney. Diercks made the move and pass in turn 3 to take the victory over Todd Cooney. Kevin Kile, Andy Eckrich and Chad Cooney rounded out the top 5.

In the IMCA Sport Compacts feature, it was John Whalen leading from start-to-finish in the 10 lap feature. Bill Whalen Jr. finish second, Merv Chandler was third, Alex Sampson was fourth and Matt Moore was fifth.

Donavon Nunnikhoven lead the first lap in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature but just after the completion of lap one, the caution waved for Dustin Griffiths in turn 4. On the restart, Nunnikhoven was passed by Mike Hughes and Hughes looked to continue right where he left on Sunday in Knoxville. But then the caution came out on lap 9 for Aaron Osweiler. Hughes held off any challenges to take the win over Bobby Greene, Danny Thrasher, Nunnikhoven and Justin Hook.

“Mighty Mouse” Jason McDaniel lead from start-to-finish in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature, but he had several challenges from Tony and AJ Johnson in the early going. Then late in the race, it was Tony Johnson put challenges on McDaniel, McDaniel held off the challenges even after a caution on lap 14 that forced a green-white-checkered finish. McDaniel took the win with Tony Johnson in second. Eric Flander got by AJ Johnson for third meanwhile Carter VanDenBerg was fifth.

Text Only
Local News
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints