Local News

April 26, 2013

Six take checkers on Opening Night at SIS


Jesse Dennis would lead the first lap in the MUSCO Lighting IMCA Modified before it would be “The Gasman” Cayden Carter grabbing the lead. Carter appeared to be heading to the easy win until lap traffic would slow him down which would allow Todd Shute and Jesse Sobbing chase him down. Unfortunately, Carter would hold them off to take the win.

Shute was second, Sobbing was third with Kyle Wahlert and Jacob Murray rounding out the top 5.

Final feature of the night would be the Iowa Sportsman Series feature and it was Gene Tish taking the lead early. Kris Walker would grab the lead away on lap four, but Walker’s lead would be short lived as he would experience some troubles giving the lead back to Tish.

Tish would take the win over Darin VanDee, Denny Binns, Roger Dickerson and Chad Reynolds.

Next Wednesday night will be the first of five nights featuring the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models as it will be Watters Autoland Night. Hot Laps at 7 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

Southern Iowa Speedway

Edel Lawn Care Night

Wednesday’s Results

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1 — 1. Bill Gibson.

Heat 2 — 1. Jesse Sobbing.

Heat 3 — 1. Todd Shute.

Feature — 1. Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. Todd Shute (Des Moines); 3. Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 4. Kyle Wahlert (Pleasant Hill); 5. Jacob Murray (Hartford); 6. Jesse Dennis (Prescott); 7. Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 8. Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 9. Tim Murty (Tama); 10. Colt Mather (Webster); 11. Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 12. Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 13. Tyler VandeKamp (Ankeny); 14. Casey Greubel (Lacona); 15. Jeff Waterman (Quincy, IL); 16. Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 17. Scott Dickey (Packwood). DNS — Brandon Banks (Washington).

Budweiser IMCA Stock Car

Heat 1 — 1. Jason Minnehan.

Heat 2 — 1. Nathan Wood.

Feature — 1. Damon Murty (Chelsea); 2. Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 3. Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 4. Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 5. Tom Killen (Des Moines); 6. Randy Killen (Des Moines); 7. Carl Yaw Jr. (Des Moines); 8. Jason Minnehan (Churdan); 9. Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 10. Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 11. Rich Vogt (Fairfield). DNS —Todd Phillips (Packwood); Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa).

Text Only
Local News
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints