September 3, 2013

Oskaloosans can vote for any school board candidate

The Oskaloosa Herald

OSKALOOSA — When Oskaloosa voters go to the polls Sept. 10 to elect candidates to the school board, they can vote for any candidate they choose, regardless of their precinct.

“It doesn’t matter what district they live in, they can vote for anyone on the ballot,” Mahaska County Deputy Auditor Teresa Paige said.

There are eight candidates are running for five seats on the school board and the election. Three candidates — incumbent Lin Yoder is facing off against Kraig Van Hulzen and Carl Drost for the at-large seat; and Board President Susan Boxler faces Neal Hadden for the District 3 seat. Shelly Herr is running unopposed for the District 2 seat as is Tom Richardson for the District 5 seat and Shawn Moyer for the District 6 seat.

Paige said the Oskaloosa city election will be different. Voters can only vote for those candidates from their own precinct.