August 12, 2013

$5,000 grant will be given to area entrepreneur

The Oskaloosa Herald

OSKALOOSA — The Iowa Innovation Gateway is offering an opportunity for entrepreneurs and small business owners to receive a $5,000 cash grant expand to be used to help start or expand their business.

This grant, called DREAM BIG...GROW HERE, will be given to an entrepreneur or small business owner with 50 or fewer employees and is located in Jasper, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Poweshiek or Story county.

In order to qualify for this DREAM BIG...GROW HERE grant, the entrepreneur must submit a proposal during the time period of Sept. 3 through Sept. 27. From Oct. 1 through Oct. 15, on-line public voting will be done to identify the top business ideas. The top four vote-getters and one wildcard will be given the opportunity to present their ideas to a panel of judges on Nov. 14. The panel of judges will make the final decision and will award the DREAM BIG...GROW HERE $5,000 grant to the winner.

The Iowa Innovation Gateway invites interested entrepreneurs to learn more and apply for the DREAM BIG...GROW HERE grant by logging on at http://iowainnovationgateway.com . Mahaska County businesses may call Mahaska County Ag & Rural Development Director Deann De Groot with questions at (641) 672-2591 or email mcard@mahaskacounty.org.

DREAM BIG...GROW HERE regional contest winners will be invited to participate in a

statewide pitch-off this fall for a $10,000 grand prize judged and awarded at EntreFest.

The DREAM BIG…GROW HERE contest enables IIG to learn more about the region’s entrepreneurs while providing them with an opportunity to promote either their proposed business or their dreams for their current business. The DREAM BIG…GROW HERE contest would not be possible without the support of Iowa Banker’s Association, Renew Rural Iowa, Delta Dental, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Technology Association of Iowa and VentureNet Iowa.

To submit your dream or learn more about the contest, go to www.dreambiggrowhere.com and click on “Innovation Gateway 2013.”