Local News

March 28, 2014

Awards granted at Parent/Member Banquet

OSKALOOSA — The Oskaloosa FFA Chapter held their 77th Annual Parent/Member Banquet on Thursday, March 20, 2014 in the Oskaloosa Senior High School Cafeteria.

One-hundred thirty-four parents, guests and FFA members were in attendance at the 6:30 p.m. banquet.

The FFA chapter awards a Blue and Gold Award and a Honorary Chapter Degree. The award winners have helped the chapter out not only through this school year but over the past three years as well. This year’s Blue and Gold Award went to Superintendent Russ Reiter for his support for the agriculture education program and FFA chapter. The Honorary Chapter Degree was given to Ver Steegh Brothers for their help and support for the school land lab. Craig Ver Steegh was present to receive the plaque.

FFA Chapter members were recognized for their involvement in their Supervised Agriculture Experience projects through the proficiency award program. These members developed proficient skills in their areas. Josh Van Donselaar received recognition in Beef Production. Bobbi Fogle in Extemporaneous Speaking, Specialty Animals, and Poultry Production. Madison McQueen in Small Animal Production and Kylee Silliman in Swine Production. Josh Van Donslaar was also awarded the Star Greenhand, given to a first year member for their achievement in academic, SAE and FFA participation.

Fourteen members were awarded the Scholarship award, for maintaining a grade point cumulative of 3.25 or higher. These members consists of seniors, Joe Ver Steegh, Brittany McQueen, Kelsie Tomlin, Kaila Wheeldon, and Elizabeth Christy. Juniors, Kayla Wald, and Bobbi Fogle. Sophomores, Madison McQueen and Kylee Silliman. Freshman, Allisa Newendorp, Josh Van Donslaar, Linay Seibert, Mackenzie Miller and Gillian Gross.

The 2013-2014 officer team installed the 2014-2015 new officer team. President – Bobbi Fogle, Vice President – Jordan Bemis, Secretary – Kayla Wald, Treasurer – Madison McQueen, Reporter – Kylee Silliman, and Sentinel – Dalton Kraber.

Fogle and Silliman talked about contest results. Sub – District Contest, Parliamentary Procedure team, Madison McQueen, Kayla Wald, Kylee Silliman, Kelsie Tomlin and Alex Grubbs won 1st Gold. Brittany McQueen received 1st Gold in Individual Agriculture Sales, and Bobbi Fogle won a silver, in Extemporaneous Speaking. District Contest, the Parliamentary Procedure team won 1st Gold. Bobbi Fogle received 2nd Gold in Extemporaneous Speaking, Jordan Bemis received 2nd Gold in Chapter Website. Brittany McQueen received 3rd Gold in Individual Agriculture Sales. Jordan Bemis received a Silver on her Reporter’s Scrapbook. Members competing at State Contest, the Parliamentary Procedure team, Jordan Bemis and her Chapter Website. Bobbi Fogle in Extemporaneous Speaking, and Brittany McQueen is alternate in Individual Agriculture Sales. Brittany McQueen, Madison McQueen, Jordan Bemis, and Bobbi Fogle are participating in team Agriculture Sales. Joe Ver Steegh, Dalton Kraber, and Josh Van Donslaar are participating in Farm Business Management.

Text Only
Local News
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints