CNHI/Southeast Iowa

May 8, 2013

Disaster declaration expands aid

OTTUMWA — Gov. Terry Branstad has declared disasters in several area counties, extending the reach of assistance for flood damage.

The new declaration includes Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Marion, Monroe, Van Buren and Wapello counties, along with several others. The declaration allows residents to seek state grants to help with expenses related to flooding.

The region saw tremendous rains over the past several weeks, including record breaking rainfall in April. In a two-day period much of the area saw more rain than the previous four months combined.

Text Only
CNHI/Southeast Iowa
Oskaloosa Shopper
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Photo reprints